Board of Advisers

The Henry Parkes Foundation has been established as a charitable trust (tax deductibility reference no. DGR:475061), with three Trustees under the direction of a Board of Advisers consisting of between seven and nine people.

The 2017 Board of Advisers comprises:

Mr Ian Thom, company director, Parkes family (Chair, Hon. Treasurer)

Mr Graham Spindler, retired Parliamentary Education and Community Relations Manager, Parliament of NSW (Deputy Chair)

Emeritus Professor Peter Webber, architect and planner; Parkes family (Deputy Chair)

Mrs Jane Gray, retired librarian; Parkes family

Mrs Dianne Barnes, educational adviser

Ms Catherine Gray, writer and editor, Parkes family (Hon. Secretary)

Mr Greig Tillotson, retired Parliamentary Librarian, Parliament of NSW

Ms Gillian Webber, grants officer, Parkes family


Mr Neil Hartley, Ms Catherine Gray, Mr Graham Spindler

Hon Consultants:

Helen Irving, Professor of Law, University of Sydney; Emeritus Professor Brian Fletcher, historian and author (Founding Chair); Hon. Neal Blewett, academic and former Federal MP

Hon. Auditor: Shane Chadwick, Boroughs Assurance

The Foundation acknowledges the invaluable assistance of its first patron, the Hon. Gordon Samuels AC, Governor of NSW 1996–2001, the help of Perpetual Trustees during its establishment, and support over many years from Mr Bill Gibbins (formerly FCL Interstate Transport Services Pty Ltd).